

<u>Members present</u>: Mrs. Brittany Anderson; Mr. David Barnette, Chair; Dr. Sally Howard; Mr. Brad Lane, 2nd Vice Chair; Mr. William McKee, Vice Chair; Mr. Doug Moore; Ms. Layton Romano; Mr. Nelson Spencer; Dr. Santina St. John

Member absent: Mr. Richard Jarrell, Secretary; Mr. Doug Maddy; Mrs. Myra Susie Rogers

<u>Call to Order and Determination of Quorum</u> - A quorum being present, Mr. Barnette called the meeting to order at 1:01 p.m.

<u>Minutes of the November 13, 2018 Meeting</u>- Mr. Doug Moore moved the approval of the minutes of the November 13, 2018 meeting; Mrs. Anderson seconded; motion carried.

I. Focus Area Reports:

1. Enrollment

- Mr. William Allen; Interim Vice President of Enrollment Management

2. Retention

- Dr. Sarah Beasley, Vice President of Student Affairs and Director of Retention

3. Fundraising

- Mrs. Alicia Besenyei, Vice President of Advancement
- **II. Possible Executive Session-** No Need for an Executive Session at this time.

III. Committee Action Items

1. Academic Affairs Committee – Mrs. Brittany Anderson, Chair

Dr. Peter Viscusi, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

Action Item: Approval of the Bachelor of Science in Health Science Major

RESOLVED, that the Concord University Board of Governors approve the Bachelor of Science in Health Science Major; Mr. Mr. McKee moved the motion; Mrs. Anderson seconded; motion passed.

Action Item: Approval of the inactivation of the History in Philosophy Major.

RESOLVED, that the Concord University Board of Governors approve the inactivation of the History in Philosophy Major; Mr. McKee moved the motion; Mr. Moore seconded; motion passed.

Information Item:Dr. Joseph Allen of the Department of Physical
Sciences was named one of the five finalists for
West Virginia's 2018 Professor of the Year by the
Faculty Merit Foundation of West Virginia.

- Dr. Kathy Liptak: Associate Provost

Action Item: Approval of the Compact.

RESOLVED, that the Concord University Board of Governors approve the Compact (that extends it to 2020); Mr. Moore moved the motion; Mrs. Anderson seconded; motion passed.

2. Executive Committee - Mr. David Barnette, Chair

- Dr. Kendra Boggess, President

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 2:03 p.m.

David Barnette, Chairman

Richard Jarrell, Secretary

: LW